Feeling Downhearted? Worship First…

worship

Good Monday morning, Brave Ones!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted but mostly because I’ve been struggling with some relationship stuff and didn’t have the mental strength to share. I had been talking to a guy the last few months who lives out of state, and although I’m aware that long distance relationships rarely make it, I made the decision to hope that this could stand up to the distance…

It’s proving not to be the case and the hardest thing about this is, this is the first guy I’ve liked in a long time who I could see myself fitting well into his life and him into mine. I liked/like him a LOT and so the loss of our diminishing communications has hit me hard.

So what are we to do with sadness and deferred hope?

Weirdly enough, God gave me an answer through different online teachings and my daily devotional (the same message from completely unrelated sources): worship Him first…

I’m like whaa? Not ask for stuff first…or demand answers first, but worship FIRST. I’ll admit, I’m not great at worship. Words can fall flat with how I feel about God, and sometimes I worry that the worship songs I sing are more about the music than about Him…But all that aside, it is REALLY hard to worship when you feel like God has let you down or when you’re in pain. But that’s the message He was sending so I made the attempt.

And the crazy thing is, it has helped to ease the pain and begin to put life in the right perspective again. I believe all the love, care and “worship” I was giving this man was making me sick in my spirit because I was simultaneously giving too much and having to hold back. Not to mention, worship never belongs to a man anyway…it belongs to God.

As Christians, when we invest in someone, I think that is one of our greatest strengths, giving our praise and admiration to the ones we love. But it only works when that devotion is rightly placed. In worshiping God, His arms are open wide to receive it. We are able and encouraged to worship Him vulnerably, passionately, and with an embarrassing amount of abandon. We never have to hold back our intense excitement to adore Him. He welcomes it!

So today, when a sad or grief laden thought enters your mind–turn to God and worship Him. A worshipful heart is a heart fertile to receive joy! My prayer is that, we would all have that today.

Because of your unfailing love, I can enter your house;
I will worship at your Temple with deepest awe. -Psalm 5:7

Leave a Reply

