What to Do When We Fail to Be Brave

girlbeach

It would be ideal if all of us were brave all the time, and isn’t it so much easier telling other people to be brave instead of being brave ourselves?

Two nights ago, I failed at being emotionally brave. I gave in to fears which are still swimming around in my head today. My lack of courage stems from past hurt and disappointment. I expect that the painful things which have happened before WILL happen again. And because it’s easier to protect my heart by putting a high, impenetrable wall of cynicism around it–I chose to do that instead of trusting in a God who loves me and wants the best for me.

I’m still wrestling with what to do with that wall today, but thankfully God has brought a few stories to my mind. Honestly, it helps to remember that so many of His children in the Bible did not always practice bravery during difficult times:

Abraham’s wife, Sarah, chose to laugh instead of believe God would keep His promise and give her and Abraham a child in their old age.

When Jesus invited Peter out onto the water, Peter began to sink when he noticed the powerful wind and waves.

And Thomas wasn’t about to believe Jesus had come back to life until he saw Jesus’ hands with his own eyes.

But even after all this unbelief did God abandon His children?
Wonderfully, no.

In fact, He brought Abraham and Sarah the child He promised He would give to them.

He reached out and grabbed Peter’s hand instead of letting him sink to the bottom of the Sea of Galilee.

And for Thomas, I couldn’t express it better than the scripture itself…”Even though the doors were locked, Jesus stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then Jesus said to Thomas, “Put your finger here, and look at my hands. Take your hand, and put it into my side. Stop doubting, and believe.” Thomas responded to Jesus, “My Lord and my God!” (John 20:26-28)

So today I am telling you, as much as I’m telling myself, God’s love and deep concern for us is not dependent on perfect belief. We can be assured that His grace is big enough to cover our inner turmoil and fears. I hope that encourages you today as we face trials of many kinds.

God is with us when we fly and when we fall. Praise His name forever for how He loves us.

Leave a Reply

